e would first like to acknowledge Professor Andre Keet and Mr JC van der Merwe, the director of the Institute for Reconciliation and Justice. Professor Keet, along with van der Merwe, believed in the conference and committed valuable resources and an unreserved support to its organization at the University of the Free State.

Special acknowledgement to Peter Alegi and Martha Saavedra who were among the pioneers of this conference in 2004 at Ohio University and travelled to be part of the historical edition hosted in Africa.

We thank all the abstract reviewers and all the contributors who will be presenting, discussing and share ideas and knowledge during the three days of the conference.

Special Thanks to the abstract reviewers and those who provided intellectual support in the planning of the conference programme:

Andre Odendaal
Chuka Owumecheli
Chris Bolsmann
Dean Allan
Glen Thompson
Kamilla Swart
Lyndsay Hayurst
Mark Fredricks
Martha Saavedra
Mauricio Borrero
Michelle Sikes
Packy Moran
Pascal Charitas
Paul Darby
Peter Alegi
Rob Gordon
Roger Levermore
Scarlett Cornelisen
Shawn Forde
Simon Akindes
Todd Cleveland

Our recognition and appreciation goes to all the associates of the Institute of Reconciliation and Social Justice. They were instrumental in planning every detail of the organization and dedicated their precious time to assist and support the administration of the conference:

Benjam Tesfaye
Bongani Mavundla
Dalson Poopedi.
Jerry Mokoroane
Lehakoe Masedi
Louzanne Coetzee
Rochelle Ferreira
Sahar D. Sattarzadeh
Tebogo E. Chabangu
Mpendulo ‘Troy’ Myeni
Xolile Sizephe